MindfulVision

My tribute to life with all its curiosities and miracles

Contagious Passion

2 Comments

Have you ever met someone who is so passionate about something that this passion literally radiates and lights up an entire room? I was fortunate enough tonight to be in the audience when a great young artist from the US lit up a little coffee shop in Heidelberg with his flying sparks of passion for his music and his dream of a music career. I got to enjoy a wonderful and intimate concert with great music and great company – and when the musician asked to take him home I couldn’t resist…actually as I’m typing this he’s still singing in the other room. Oh no wait, I guess that’s just the CD I took home with me🙂

On my way home I recalled something he mentioned while signing CDs: he just got his Italian citizenship. When he was asked why he simply said: “So I get to stay in the EU to promote my music!” And the way he said it sounded like it was the most natural thing to do and just the next logical step. Of course there are people changing and dropping citizenships every day and that’s not my point. I was just so touched by the empowerment and determination that came with the unshakable belief in and longing for his dream. For me this was just living proof of my “mission statement for life”:

Everything is possible! And if you truly want something you will find a way to make it happen because the price you’d be paying for dropping your dream would be so much higher than anything you might have to give up on the way of achieving it! 

Thank you Jake Rathburn for sharing your music and for reminding me of the passionate power of dreams!

IMG_1730

2 thoughts on “Contagious Passion

  1. Elena…I’ve known Jake for about 11 or 12 years now. My husband and I met him through his parents with whom we are friends. He’s so down to earth and find myself looking at him, wondering how he can remain so grounded, and be so great at what he does at the same time. Europe is very lucky to have him there, as I’m sure you’re already beginning to figure out for yourself.

    I loved reading your article…thank you for putting your thoughts into such lovely words. All of his friends and family he left back here in the U.S. enjoy seeing successful he’s becoming over there, “across the big pond.” 🙂

    ~ Donna Conroy, Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

    • Donna, thanks so much for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts! Yes, Europe is very lucky indeed. I came across Jake’s music by chance and instantly fell in love with it. From what I can tell after meeting him 2 weeks ago, Europe seems to be taking care of him🙂

      Please feel free to subscribe to my blog and share it with friends and family. Maybe Jake will inspire me for another post at some time🙂

      Sending lots of aloha “across the big pond”

      Elena Anasha

Leave a Reply

